Part 1 – What’s in a name?


My coaching ‘service’ has always been my name. It was an easy decision to make as I crossed the bridge from employed to freelance and from training to coaching. The service I was providing was just me, my skills, time, training and experience.

As I embark on creating products, monetising and productising, suddenly I am aware of what I have always had, a brand. The question is now do I want to keep my name as my brand?

So I have been on the search for a new name, a name which sums up what I am what the company is now and in the future.

More than ever I have to consider SEO, do I need the name to stand up in a search when 70 million other connotations also come up?

I have to consider the word itself, as a coach I understand deeply that my perception of anything is just that, my perception. And yours, my potential clients may be very different and maybe negative.

I have to make sure it is memorable, so if they hear the name at a networking event or see it on a tweet they’ll get it and recall it and become a customer. The great thing about my name is it has always stood out from the crowd and a bit like New York I have to say it twice. When I was younger this was a burden, when working for yourself it is a positive.

Can I eventually sell it, and this is the nub; at some point I want to sell my business. If my business is so connected to my name how can I sell it? When I was younger I had a friend who was related to a large removal company, her family had sold it and she regularly saw her name on the side of trucks whizzing up and down the motorway. I am used to there being no other Emma Ranson Bellamy’s anywhere.

So this blog series will be about the search for my name. I have put out a call to my subconscious to help me find it, it’s my one last hope as hundreds of searches have not yielded it to me.

Any advice tips and feedback gratefully welcomed.

Emma Ranson Bellamy Logo

Leave a comment